So, what to do with myself in 2012?

1 Jan

Up until last year, my new year’s resolutions always erred on the kind of (OK, very) predictable side – eat more chocolate, drink more cocktails, watch more mind-numbing TV.

But as 2010 grew to a close I decided to make 2011 worthwhile with a resolution that would take effort to live up to but would give me great satisfaction to look back on. Which is how I came to decide that for those 12 months I would “do more stuff”.

Now, on the surface, this seems mind-numbingly boring and obvious. But the truth is, before that I was a great one for saying “that sounds like fun, I should go” and then rarely getting around to it.

So my resolution was to pry myself out of inertia’s solid group and actually DO stuff. 

How did I go? In a word, spectacular. Just a few of the highlights I can look back on, in entirely random order, are:

– attending a talk on the future of robotics in relationships;

– walking through an exhibition of Annie Leibovitz’s photos;

– seeing comedian Kathy Griffin live;

– checking out Motley Crue in concert (the only girl in a French striped top with a bow, but I digress);

– seeing concerts ranging from Def Leppard and Heart (suspect I’m giving my age away here) to Foo Fighters (twice) and Cold Chisel (also twice);

– sitting in on a talk by Dexter author Jeff Lindsay and cursing the ‘expert’ interviewer who kept trying to tell him the serial killer was a vigilante , no matter how many times he (politely) informed her he wasn’t.

Anyway, I could go on, but you get the point. And while it was VERY expensive and time consuming, it was also very rewarding. Which made me decide to do something equally meaningful with my 2012.

And that’s where this blog comes in.

I am devoting the next 365 days to learning something new each and every day. Not the kind of minutae we inhale every second just by living, but some piece of information I consciously set out to discover. Not always serious, not always detailed and definitely not the kind of thing I would swear on the accuracy of . Just something new. A little bit of extra brainpower among the hustle and bustle.

I hope you’ll join me.

5 Responses to “So, what to do with myself in 2012?”

  1. Gavin Lauman January 5, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    So when do you learn the meaning of life?

  2. sue January 5, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    something to learn – this is a leap year – there are 366 things to learn this year not 365

    with love and kind regards
    a smart ass!!

  3. sue January 5, 2012 at 3:35 pm #

    unless of course you are taking day 1 into account in which case you are completely correct – there are 365 things to learn remaining until you have to think of a new resolution

    • whatcanilearntoday January 5, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

      Hmmm, decisions, decisions. Do I adopt a Baldrick-worthy cunning plan and pretend that yes, I meant 365 days after the first post. Or fess up that I had not realised it was a leap year. Whoops, guess I just did 🙂

Leave a Reply

