I still remember every single word you said. Or do I?

5 Jan

Ask me to list my top 10 most over-rated bands and I will refuse to answer the question in written form. It’s a safety thing you see; those Proclaimers fans don’t muck around!

But ask me to name my top 10 favourite bands, and it’s all too easy. The end result goes something like this.

1 – Foo Fighters
2 – Garbage
3 – Foo Fighters
4 – Silverchair
5 – Foo Fighters
6 – Nirvana
7 – Pearl Jam
8 – Foo Fighters
9 – Bon Jovi
10 – Icehouse

So yes, I love the Fooeys, particularly the song Monkey Wrench. I find it incredibly useful for psyching up the start of a working day, although I have learned it’s best to scream along with my car windows up.

My favourite part is the shouty bit ™ but I always get let down by not knowing the very last line. So today I set out to finally learn the whole thing. That way, when the band next hits Australia, I can blast along with Dave from start to finish, rather than pretending to cough through those precious few final words. So without further ado, here it is…

One last thing before I quit
I never wanted any more than I could fit into my head
I still remember every single word you said
And all the shit that somehow came along with it
Still there’s one thing that comforts me
Since I was always caged and now I’m free

Now go watch the official video – here

4 Responses to “I still remember every single word you said. Or do I?”

  1. Sarah Morgan January 5, 2012 at 9:28 am #

    OMG I totally had these lyrics wrong. No surprise there – as it’s my special talent to confuse lyrics. I once sang Hello my lover to Ed instead of Goodbye my lover. Great blog and great idea. Very cool L.

  2. whatcanilearntoday January 5, 2012 at 6:39 pm #

    Ha ha, that’s a classic 🙂 But I’m sure he took it well! Another wrong one I heard today was AC/DC’s You Shook Me All Night long. It went…

    … she was a fax machine, she kept her modem clean…

    Priceless! Makes Alex the Seal look positively brainy by comparison.

    And thanks for the support. Let’s see if I still love the concept as much in 245 days!

  3. Mez January 6, 2012 at 10:00 am #

    LAUGHED Out Loud at the Top Ten list — LOVE that Icehouse is tagged on the end. Hilarious!
    And we too love the Fooeys. Should have asked us the lyrics — Russell and I learned them in a hire car driving up Highway One up the west coast of the States in ’98. We bought the cassette (!) at a petrol station and loved the song so much, we ripped out the inside and learned them off by heart.
    Can’t wait to see what else you learn this year — don’t want to join us in France???

    • whatcanilearntoday January 6, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

      Yeh, they’re kind of a permanent fixture on the list 🙂 There’s just something about the opening strains of Electric Blue that take me back to my teenage days (and the unsuitable crushes that went with them!)
      And yes I want to come to France. Are you there now? If so give me one day to get on a plane. Provided Qantas is accepting dryer lint as currency of course!

Leave a Reply

