How do you make an apple tart?

20 Mar

I have a friend whose sole ambition in life is to be Martha Stewart.

Goodness knows why, as she would look terrible in prison garb (and seems to have conveniently glossed over the whole insider training thing), but the idea of a world that’s beautiful from the moment you wake until the moment you go to bed has her enthralled.

Now, that sounds kind of Stepfordy to me – I love clutter and lots of it. But I can appreciate the desire for an elegant life. However if we’re going to do things stylishly, I’m more about Donna Hay, especially since she’s Australian.

As I’ve noted before, I buy a lot of magazines, and Donna is often among them, not so much because I want her recipes (although they are delicious) but more because I adore her colour palette and gorgeous food styling. So naturally, when I was trying to find something to take to a Queensland election party on Saturday night (I tip an absolute shellacking for Anna Bligh and Labour) there was nowhere else to turn but her website.

And she came to the party, with the below recipe – from her entertaining section – proving just the trick. It’s so easy and looks so professional I already know I will have to spend half the night trying to convince people I actually made it myself. Oh well, so worth it. Here goes…

DONNA HAY’S EASY APPLE TART

Ingredients
2 red apples, thinly sliced
2 tsp brown sugar
1 tsp cinnamon
80g butter, melted
1 sheet ready-prepared puff pastry
1 egg, lightly beaten
Double (thick) cream to serve

Method
Preheat oven to 200C. Place the apple, sugar, cinnamon and butter in a small bowl and mix to combine. Cut the pastry into four equal squares and score the edges to create a 1cm border. Layer with the apple mixture and brush with the egg. Place on a baking tray lined with non-stick baking paper and cook for 10–15 minutes or until golden and puffed. Serve with double cream or ice-cream.

Apparently, the recipe is supposed to serve four people but clearly, Donna has never met my family!

Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

