Who invented Maltesers?

23 Mar

I am a creature of simple habits when it comes to the movies.

I must sit on the aisle, I must be seated in time to see ALL the trailers and I must be accompanied by a choc top and Maltesers. At a pinch I can do without both of them, but at least one sweet treat is compulsory. A friend to come with me is not.

And so it was that at midnight on Wednesday as the opening strains of The Hunger Games brought an audience of mostly teenage girls to shush, I started in on my packet of delicious malt balls, secure in the knowledge their excited screams would soon drown out any sound of my packet rustling. They did, and I munched away happily. In an even bigger bonus, I had some left over for breakfast the next day (a sad yet ultimately true state of affairs).

So tonight, when I longed to finish the working week with a simple quest for knowledge, my eyes fell on the by now empty packet and I knew what I wanted to know – who invented Maltesers? And the name probably won’t be a massive surprise to fellow connoisseurs of the chocolate arts.

His name was  Forrest E Mars (maybe the surname rings a bell?) and he came up with the confectionary in 1936. These days it’s still produced by his famous family-named brand and here’s a fun fact I discovered – the balls are actually so light they can float on water. I wonder if they’ve considered making life jackets? At least then people might actually listen to the safety briefings!

Anyway, I don’t want to rave on, in case people start thinking I was paid for this blog (I wasn’t). But I do like to know about who makes my favourites movies, my favourites books and my favourite music, so somehow doing the same for my favourite chocolate doesn’t seem so bad.

Now, who wants to know how to make that delicious looking confection above?

MALTESERS LAYER CAKE

INGREDIENTS
If you want to use normal sandwich tins, double the ingredients and split between the two tins.

65g self raising flour
65g room temperature butter
65g golden caster sugar
35g Horlicks
1/3 tsp baking powder
1 egg
1.5 tbsp milk
1.5 tbsp boiling water
Ganache
150g dark chocolate
150ml cream
Decoration
2 packets Maltesers

METHOD

Cakes
This is the mixture for a 5″ tin – you make two batches and then split each one into two. Preheat the oven to 180C. Butter and line the bottom of a 5″ tin. Cream the softened butter and sugar together until pale and fluffy. Add the egg and beat in. Sieve the flour, baking powder and Horlicks into the bowl and then fold in until nearly combined. Add the milk and fold again, then finally add the boiling water. Quickly spoon into the tin and put in the oven. Bake for about 20-25 minutes or until deep gold and a skewer comes out clean.
Ganache
Break the chocolate up into small pieces and put into a bowl. Heat the cream then pour over the chocolate. Leave for a few minutes and then beat in.
Decoration
Split the cakes carefully into two. Sandwich them with some of the ganache, then cover the whole cake with a ‘crumb coat’ – this is a thin layer of the ganache icing and will give your cake a better looking finish. Put it the fridge to set slightly. While it is cooling, chop the Maltesers. Remove the cake from the fridge and use the remaining ganache to cover the cake. Starting from the top, arrange the Maltesers in the desired pattern, then go down the sides, being careful when placing the pale-side-out halves. Put in the fridge for 10 minutes or so, then serve. Best eaten on the day.

Leave a Reply

