How do you make toffee apples?

31 Mar

Tonight I have the good fortune to be staying in Adelaide, a place I once used to live, work and dream of getting out of.

Now, I’m being a little bit harsh with that last comment, especially as I made some great friends while working there for three years. And it was one of them who reminded me of my almost literal fall from grace when I sprained my ankle perving on boys (at least that’s how she puts in). Clearly I should explain.

At the time, I was working as Features Editor for the Sunday Mail, where my rounds included entertainment. So every year when the Adelaide Fringe Festival rolled into town, I was snowed under with more stories, reviews and tickets than I could shake a leg at.

One year, as part of the gig, I headed down to the city’s parklands to interview two guys who were members of a famous strongman show that involved lifting each other in all sorts of weird and wonderful ways to the huge delight of the audience. And it’s here things went pear-shaped.

My friends will tell you I’ve always been partial to a bit of hot shoulder action, so when these two HUGELY muscled gents appeared wearing only singlet tops, I stopped looking at the ground and consequently tread in a hole, spraining my ankle badly. I needed physiotherapy, which sucked, but in the tradition of silver linings everywhere, the gents in question did carry me back to my car.

Anyway, all the pain made me doubly determined to see their show. And it was as good as the hype suggested. But the memory that really stands out is the toffee apple I had at intermission.

It had been years, nay decades, since I’d last indulged. And my memory had not let me down on how delicious they were. So tonight, after relaying my sad tale of woe, I decided it was time to revisit the past and find out how to make them. Reader moriais on taste kitchen came to the rescue. So here goes…

TOFFEE APPLES

Ingredients
15 small apples, red or green
4 cups white sugar
1 tsp white vinegar
1 cup water
1 tsp red food colouring

Method
Lightly grease a baking tray. Wash and dry the apples and insert chop sticks, thick wooden skewers or paddle pop sticks into each apple. Combine sugar, vinegar and water in a small heavy based pot. Bring to the boil and stir in the food colouring. Heat to 150C or simmer for about 20 minutes or until a small amount of syrup dropped into cold water reaches crack stage – it should set hard and be hard to crack with your fingers. 
Remove pot from the heat and stand in a baking dish of water until the mixture stops bubbling. When the mixture has stopped boiling, hold an apple by its stick, dip into the syrup, tilt the pan (and the apple) until the whole apple is covered. Rotate the apple and let it drain a little then place on a baking tray to harden.Repeat with the remaining apples.

Oh. My. God. How delicious does this sound? Soooo worth the effort. Now if anyone needs me, I will be in the bathroom trying to unglue my jaw!

 

 

3 Responses to “How do you make toffee apples?”

  1. curiousitykitty April 1, 2012 at 1:34 am #

    These sound so delicious! (I am, obviously, talking about the apples…)

    Believe it or not, I don’t think I’ve ever eaten a toffee apple before. I have a feeling I found one reduced at the supermarket a couple of years back (but as it was mass produced, probably past its best, and consumed mid-winter, this does not count), but never in this kind of ‘proper’ toffee apple environment. My tale of woe is certainly not as tragic as yours, but I do feel like I’ve missed out on something pretty amazing now. Come the summer, I have a mission. And if I fail, I will definitely be trying out your recipe at the first available BBQ.

    Thanks for writing such a wonderful post!

    • whatcanilearntoday April 1, 2012 at 10:34 am #

      Obviously 😉 and they come highly recommended (the apples of course). I would love to hear how you go as there is something pretty magical about toffee apples. And trust me, I’ve ‘researched’ enjoy sweet treats to know. Enjoy and thanks for the lovely comment!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A new kind of bridal blog - Hello May - February 1, 2013

    […]  Lara Hotz // Photography Eric Ronald // Succulents Yes, please // Toffee apples What Can I Learn Today // Jam Sweet Caroline Jams // Seedlings Events to a […]

Leave a Reply

