How do you make caramel slice?

16 Nov

caramel slice1

My care factor for cooking is generally as high as my care factor for the safety of reality TV show stars. By which I mean middling to none.

I mean sure, I can cook staples such as pasta and steak, but my heart’s not really in it. Especially when there’s always so much good TV to watch.

On the flipside, I do love baking. Especially as it provides easy access to raw cookie dough filled with chocolate chips. Or so I’m told…

Anyway, for the most part, I start my creations with the contents of a packet mix, but when I signed up to host a friend’s baby shower, something more impressive was clearly required.

So I turned to a kitchen-whiz friend with a plea for a recipe to make caramel slice. She obliged in wonderful style.

And since she was quite happy to tell me, I’m going to share it with you. Here goes…

Steph’s caramel slice

Mix a cup of plain flour (gluten-free is fine) with half a cup of almond meal, about ¾ of a cup of caster sugar and 125g of melted butter.

Press into a lined slice tin.

Cook on about 180-200C for about 10-15 minutes until it’s starting to turn golden (time might differ from oven to oven) and then pop into the fridge for half an hour.

Once it’s cool, cover with caramel – I confess to using 1.5 tins of Top ‘n’ Fill here – and refrigerate again.

Meanwhile, melt 250g of chocolate melts with 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil (I did it on a stove in a bowl above a pot of boiling water), pour it over the caramel and put it back in the fridge again to set.

Then comes the tricky bit – the cutting. As the above photo shows, I do not have this process down nearly even pat. But a friend suggested a knife or similar tool dipped in hot water might do the trick.

Happy baking!

Leave a Reply

